Camera on, no exam
Grand Prix describes its 5-hour course as 100% live on Zoom with a live instructor. The attendance rule is stated in one line: attend the full session with your camera on. There are no quizzes and no final exam.
The camera rule is the school’s own policy. The DMV’s requirement is a live, real-time class taught by a qualified instructor, with your identity confirmed at enrollment and during the course. Grand Prix goes a step further than the minimum, so plan for a visible face and a quiet room for the full session.
Schedule and certificate
Classes run from Monday to Saturday at least, in morning and evening time slots, so check the school’s live calendar for the day you want. The page does not state which language the class is taught in, so Spanish speakers should ask.
The MV-278 is mailed out the next day, and you sign it before you book your road test. Learners must be 16 or older. The certificate is valid for one year, and the DMV says you must bring the original, not a copy, to the road test; see the DMV’s road test page for the full list of what to bring.
Because the certificate arrives by mail, there is no trip to Lexington Avenue after class. The office matters mainly for questions, which you can put to the school on (212) 752-0100.
Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere
Grand Prix suits Manhattan learners, especially on the Upper East Side, where its office sits at 806 Lexington Avenue, 2nd floor. It also suits anyone who wants a firm policy on cameras and attendance. Parents of a teen, for instance, may like that an instructor can see the student throughout.
The two Manhattan schools in our ranking sit close on price and far apart on detail. Grand Prix charges $60 and New York Auto School $65. New York Auto School publishes Spanish classes and says road test scheduling is free with the class. Grand Prix publishes a camera rule, a no-quiz policy and a free-cancellation window of 24 hours. Both mail the MV-278 rather than asking you to collect it, and both take learners from age 16. Read the New York Auto School review if Spanish or road test scheduling matters to you.
It is a harder sell on price, and on a few unknowns. Compare the $60 with Coreway, which starts at $40 and publishes Spanish dates. The class language is not stated on the page. Other Manhattan options, including New York Auto School, are on our Manhattan page, and the whole field sits in the ranking.
How to sign up
Register through the school’s 5-hour course page. Have the permit ready to upload, then pick a morning or evening session. Questions can go to the office at (212) 752-0100. Cancellation requests go to the school by email, so keep your confirmation handy.
What we like
- Morning and evening classes across most of the week
- No quizzes or final exam; you attend the full session
- Free cancellation or rescheduling with at least 24 hours’ notice
- Certificate mailed the next day; open to learners 16 and older
Keep in mind
- $60, which is $20 above the flat $40 at the booking sites
- Your camera must stay on and your Zoom name must match your permit
- The language of instruction is not stated
Our verdict
Grand Prix is a clear, no-surprises Zoom offer: a live instructor, a stated price with no hidden fees, no exam, and a certificate that goes out the next day. Its strongest point is scheduling, with morning and evening classes through most of the week. It costs $20 more than the flat $40 offered by the booking sites and does not say which languages it teaches in. Pick it if the Tuesday and Thursday 5:00 PM sessions elsewhere do not fit your day.
Best for: Manhattan learners who need a weekday morning or evening class