5HR Course Rating

Our method

How We Rate 5-Hour Pre-Licensing Courses

Every score on this site comes from six published criteria and from facts anyone can look up. Here is what we weigh, where the information comes from and what the numbers do not mean.

Updated October 2026

The six criteria and their weights

A provider’s score out of 10 is a weighted blend of six criteria. The weights are the same for every provider and do not change from month to month.

CriterionWeightWhat we look at
Price and transparency25%Whether a full price is published, and what it includes
Format flexibility20%Live online, classroom, both, or the state’s online self-paced course
Class availability20%How often classes run, with attention to evenings and weekends
Languages15%Which languages the class is taught in, and whether the school says so
Booking and certificate handling10%Online booking, and how clearly the MV-278 delivery is explained
Extras10%Road test booking help, lessons and a car for the test

Price and transparency carries the most weight because a class that looks cheap and adds fees later is hard to compare. Format and availability follow, since a class you cannot attend is worth little at any price.

Where the facts come from

Prices, formats, schedules, languages and certificate handling come from each provider’s own public website. Course rules come from New York State DMV pages, mainly the pre-licensing course page and the DMV’s list of online providers.

We record what a page says. When a page is silent, the table shows “Not stated” and we do not fill the gap with a guess. Information a school does not publish cannot earn it credit, which is why the schools that explain their price, languages and certificate delivery tend to score higher.

Prices get the same literal treatment. When a school shows an offer against a regular price, as Pre-Licensing Course LLC does with $38 and $49, we show both. When a headline price does not apply to every date, as with Coreway’s “from $40”, we say so rather than round it down. Fees that a school states, such as a card processing charge or a mailing fee, are noted next to the price.

How often we re-check

We go back to every listing each month. Class dates, prices and offers change quickly, so the pages carry the date they were last checked, currently October 2026. Treat the tables as a starting point and confirm the price and date on the provider’s site before you pay. If a school changes a fact between our checks, the provider’s site wins.

What we do not do

  • We do not sell positions. Schools we have no relationship with do not pay to be listed or to move up.
  • We do not collect customer reviews. We do not scrape review sites, so the scores are not customer ratings or star averages.
  • We do not grade the classroom. A score measures what a learner can verify before booking, not how a particular instructor teaches on a particular evening.
  • We do not invent numbers. No pass rates, student counts or years in business appear here, because we have no verified source for them.

Schools we work with, and how we handle them

The publisher works with Coreway Driving School and the three course booking sites listed here: 5 Hour Class NYC, NY 5-Hour Course and Take 5-Hour Course. The about page says who we are and how that works.

Those four are scored with the same six criteria as everyone else. They occupy the top four places because they publish a flat or headline price, offer a live online class in English and Spanish, run several class dates a week, take bookings online and sell road test help. The three booking sites publish identical prices, class times and road test pricing, so the order among them reflects editorial judgment, and gaps of a tenth of a point should be read as ties.

Your priorities may differ from our weights. If price is your only filter, for example, the order changes: the lowest listed price belongs to Pre-Licensing Course LLC, a self-paced course for adults. That is why the table shows every fact, so you can re-sort the field in your head.

How to use the scores

Use the score to shortlist, not to decide. Start with the format your age allows, narrow by language and class times, then open the review of each finalist. Read the comparison table next to the ranking, and use the borough pages if location matters to you.

Frequently asked questions

Are the scores based on customer reviews?

No. They are our own editorial scores, built from the six criteria above and from facts published by each provider. We do not collect or scrape customer reviews, so a score says nothing about how past students felt.

Can a school pay to rank higher?

No. We do not sell positions, and schools we have no relationship with have not paid to be listed or to move up. Every provider is scored on the same six criteria, and you can check each fact on the provider’s own website.

Why does the table say “Not stated” for some schools?

Because the school’s own page does not give that detail. It may exist, but we cannot verify it, so we do not guess. Call or email the school and ask before you book.

What should I do if a price or date has changed?

Go by what the provider’s own site says today. Providers who spot an out-of-date fact can ask for a correction through the schools named on the about page, and we re-check the fact against the provider’s website.

Ready to pick a class? Compare price, format and language in one place.

See the ranking