Two formats, one price
Most schools in our ranking sell one kind of course. Drive Rite sells two, both at $50: a live Zoom class, and a self-paced online course run by Online Traffic Safety, one of the 14 providers on the DMV’s list of online course providers.
| Live Zoom class | Self-paced online course | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $50 | $50 |
| Minimum age | 16 | 18, with a plastic NY photo learner permit |
| Proof for the road test | Paper MV-278 | No paper certificate; completion is reported to the DMV, usually within 24 to 48 hours |
| Time frame | A set class slot | 30 days to finish; short quizzes, 70% to advance |
The choice comes down to age and paperwork. Anyone under 18 has to take the live class, and junior (DJ/MJ) applicants are not eligible for the online format. Adults with a plastic photo permit can pick either.
The calendar is the main selling point
Drive Rite’s Zoom calendar for October 17 to November 30, 2026 lists sessions on most days of the week, Monday to Friday and weekends included. Start times come in five-hour blocks: 10 AM to 3 PM, 12 to 5 PM, 3 to 8 PM and 5 to 10 PM.
Set that against the three English classes a week at the top four schools and the difference in choice is large. A night-shift worker, a student with a free morning and a parent who only has weekends can all find a slot. It is the densest published calendar among the 13 schools we rank.
What $50 turns into
The Zoom class is $50, which is $10 more than the flat $40 at 5 Hour Class NYC, NY 5-Hour Course and Take 5-Hour Course. The paper MV-278 adds a choice. Mailing costs $5 and takes 1 to 2 weeks, faster 2- or 3-day delivery costs more, and the alternative is to pick it up at 594 Dean Street, Office 1, in Brooklyn. With standard mail the class works out to $55 in all, against $40 with no extra charge for the certificate at those three sites.
Changes are handled through your account or by phone at 718-928-7048. A lost certificate can be replaced through a web form; the fee is not published. For the online course, Drive Rite states a full refund within 24 hours as long as you have not opened any content.
Where it gives up ground
Drive Rite does not state which language its class is taught in. The top four schools in our ranking publish English and Spanish classes, and that difference is part of the gap in our scores. If you need Spanish, ask before you book.
Price is the other soft spot against the top four, since $50 plus the $5 mailing fee is more than their flat $40. Against the higher-priced schools the picture reverses: Drive Rite is $10 under Grand Prix and $15 under New York Auto School and Bronx Driving School.
Who it suits, and how to book
Drive Rite suits learners whose schedule rules out a fixed Tuesday, Thursday or Saturday slot, adults who prefer the online course but want to buy it from a Brooklyn school, and anyone happy to collect a certificate at a Brooklyn office. Teens aged 16 and 17 should book the Zoom class.
For a 16- or 17-year-old the usual under-18 rules still follow the class: a wait of at least six months after receiving the permit, and a signed MV-262 at the road test. The class date is rarely the limit, so the calendar’s breadth helps most with fitting school hours.
Book on the Drive Rite course page and choose the format first. For Spanish or fixed-evening classes, compare Coreway. The comparison table and our Brooklyn page show how the Brooklyn options stack up, and the full ranking has the rest.
What we like
- Four published Zoom time blocks, including evenings and weekends
- Live class open from age 16; self-paced route for adults 18 and older
- Certificate by mail ($5) or pickup at 594 Dean Street, Brooklyn
- Cancel or reschedule through your account or by phone
Keep in mind
- $50 for the Zoom class and the self-paced course alike
- The mailed certificate costs $5, and faster shipping costs more
- The language of instruction is not stated
Our verdict
Drive Rite earns the highest place outside the top four because it publishes the most detailed Zoom calendar in our ranking and spells out its certificate options and fees. It offers two formats under one roof, which is useful if you are 18 or older and want to weigh a live class against a self-paced one. Next to the top four it costs $10 more and does not state the class language. If your week is irregular and you want a late-evening start, it is the strongest alternative we found.
Best for: Brooklyn learners who need a weekday, evening or weekend slot with several start times