5HR Course Rating

#12 in our ranking

Bronx Driving School 5-Hour Course Review (2026)

Bronx Driving School ranks twelfth with a 7.9 score. It is the Bronx-based school in our ranking: a Zoom class by appointment on Wednesday evenings and Saturday mornings, at $65.

7.9/10

A Castle Hill office behind a Zoom class

The school’s office is at 1213 Castle Hill Avenue in the Bronx (10462), and its phone is (718) 409-1632. The 5-hour class itself is offered online via Zoom, so the office matters for questions and paperwork more than for attending.

The page says the class is by appointment only. The first step is therefore to contact the school and reserve a place on one of its two weekly dates.

Two slots a week

DayStart time
Wednesday6:00 PM
Saturday11:00 AM

A five-hour class that starts at 6:00 PM on a weekday runs until about 11:00 PM, so Wednesday suits people who are free late. The top four schools in our ranking start their weekday classes an hour earlier, at 5:00 PM, and their Saturday class begins at 1:00 PM against the 11:00 AM start here.

If you miss one date, the next is three or four days away on this schedule.

$65, cash or card

The class costs $65, payable in cash or by card. That is $25 above the flat $40 at 5 Hour Class NYC, NY 5-Hour Course and Take 5-Hour Course and level with New York Auto School as the highest price among the 13 schools we rank. Only Pre-Licensing Course LLC’s $38 online offer is cheaper than the $40 baseline, and it is a different format. Ten of the 13 schools we rank list $50 or less. Only three list more: Grand Prix at $60, then New York Auto School and Bronx Driving School at $65.

Price is one reason the school sits near the bottom of our table, because price and transparency carry the largest weight (25%) in our criteria. That is a statement about the number on the page, not about the teaching.

What the page does not say

The page does not state the language of the class, and it does not say how the MV-278 reaches you. It does say that the certificate is valid for one year, which matches the DMV’s rule. Before you book, ask the school two questions: is the class taught in English, Spanish or both, and is the certificate mailed or collected at the Castle Hill office?

Keep the paper original safe once you have it. The DMV requires the original, not a copy, at the road test, and it must be valid on the day you book. The DMV course page lays out both rules.

Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere

Bronx Driving School suits learners who want a Bronx address to call and are fine with a Wednesday night or a Saturday morning. It is a natural pick for anyone who prefers to arrange things by phone with a local office.

After the class, the road test is the next job. The DMV scheduler lists test sites near the ZIP code you enter, so you can look for a site close to home in the Bronx. The DMV says the earliest openings usually run 3 to 5 weeks out, up to 10 weeks in busy periods. On test day you need your permit, the original MV-278, a vehicle with valid registration, insurance and inspection, and a licensed accompanying driver.

Teenagers can take a live class from age 16, but learners under 18 must wait at least six months after receiving the permit before the road test, and bring a signed MV-262 recording 50 hours of supervised driving, 15 of them after sunset. Taking the class early does not shorten that wait, so there is no need to grab the first date offered.

Look elsewhere if price or Spanish matters most. Coreway and the next three schools in our ranking teach online to learners in the Bronx and across the city, starting from $40, with Spanish classes on select Sundays. Our Bronx page compares the options for the borough, and the full ranking covers everything else. To book, use the school’s 5-hour class page or call the office.

What we like

  • A local Bronx school with a Wednesday evening class
  • Pay by cash or card
  • Saturday morning session at 11:00 AM
  • Its page states that the certificate is valid for one year

Keep in mind

  • $65, which is $25 above the flat $40 at the booking sites
  • Classes are by appointment only
  • The language of instruction and the certificate delivery are not stated

Our verdict

Bronx Driving School is the only Bronx-based school in our ranking, and for some learners that local connection is the point. It publishes two class times and accepts cash as well as cards. It sits lower in the table because of the $65 price, the appointment-only booking and the information it leaves out, including the class language and how the certificate is delivered. Compare it with the live online options at the top of the table, which cost $25 less and run three English classes a week.

Best for: Bronx learners who prefer a neighborhood school and can attend Wednesday evening or Saturday morning

Frequently asked questions

Is Bronx Driving School’s 5-hour class held in person?

The school’s page says the class is offered online via Zoom, by appointment only. The office is at 1213 Castle Hill Avenue in the Bronx.

When does the class run?

On Wednesday at 6:00 PM and Saturday at 11:00 AM, as listed in October 2026. Each session is five hours, and you book by appointment.

How much does Bronx Driving School charge?

$65, payable in cash or by card.

Can I take the class in Spanish at Bronx Driving School?

The page does not state the class language, so ask the school at (718) 409-1632. Coreway and the next three schools in our ranking publish Spanish classes.